Dr. Nancy Cain Robertson

Dr. Nancy Cain Robertson is a Fellow of the Dallas Institute and a Life Member of its Board of Directors. She holds a Ph.D. in Literature from the Institute of Philosophic Studies at the University of Dallas.



Dr. Donna McBride

Dr. Donna McBride leads the Institute’s Historians Book Group and is a veteran teacher of history with forty years experience.


Dr. Frederick Turner

Dr. Frederick Turner is Founders Professor of Arts and Humanities at the University of Texas at Dallas and an internationally known poet, lecturer, and scholar.



Dr. Jaina Sanga

Dr. Jaina Sanga is a Dallas Institute Fellow and member of the Institute’s Board of Directors. She has published a novel, two novellas, and a collection of short stories.

Dr. Scott Samuelson

Dr. Scott Samuelson is Professor of Philosophy at Kirkwood Community College in Iowa City, Iowa, and recipient of the Institute’s 2015 Hiett Prize in the Humanities. His most recent book is Seven Ways of Looking at Pointless Suffering.


Dr. Gail Thomas

Dr. Gail Thomas is Founding Director of the Dallas Institute. She recorded her recitation of Gerard Manley Hopkins’ “The Windhover” at her East Texas place named from the title of the poem.

Dr. Dennis Patrick Slattery

Dr. Dennis Patrick Slattery is Emeritus Faculty Member at Pacifica Graduate Institute. He lives in New Braunfels.


Dr. Larry Allums

Dr. Larry Allums is Executive Director Emeritus of the Institute.

Dr. Claudia MacMillan

Dr. Claudia MacMillan is Founding Director of the Louise and Donald Cowan Center for Education at the Institute.

Dr. Jessica Hooten Wilson

Dr. Jessica Hooten Wilson is Associate Professor of Literature at John Brown University and recipient of the Institute’s 2019 Hiett Prize in the Humanities.

Dr. Diana Senechal

Dr. Diana Senechal lives and teaches in Szolnok, Hungary, and is a regular faculty member in the Institute’s Sue Rose Summer Institutes. She received the Institute’s Hiett Prize in the Humanities in 2011.

Her reading is in the original Greek from Sophocles’ play Antigone of the 5th century B.C.E. It is the chorus’ first ode in the play and is widely known as the “Ode to Man.” It begins “Numberless are the world’s wonders, but none more wonderful than man”; and ends “From every wind he has made himself secure––from all but one: In the late wind of death he cannot stand.”