How do you define “ascending in a career?” Is there an age limit? Can applicants be students or tenured professors, etc.?
Applicants must be active and continuing in their work. Age and length of experience are not necessarily limiting factors.

Who reviews the applications?
Applications are reviewed by a select panel of judges who are Fellows of the Dallas Institute.

Is there a required or preferred length of the Letter of Recommendation/Nomination, Curriculum Vitae, Narrative Profile of Accomplishments and Published Work, and the Plan for Future Scholarship and/or Projects in the Humanities?
The Curriculum Vitae may not exceed four pages. All other documents do not have a required or preferred minimum or maximum length to allow for freedom of expression and description. Previous recipients have submitted documents from two to twelve pages in length.
*Previous recipient’s applications are not available for review.

Is there a preference in single or double spacing within the documents?
There is no spacing requirement.

How many Letters of Recommendation/Nomination are required?
Only one letter is needed.

Who is the best person to write the Letter of Recommendation/Nomination?
Applicants must be nominated by someone committed to and working in the humanities as a career. The letter should be written by someone with knowledge and understanding of your work but not necessarily widely recognized in the humanities field.

Should the Letter of Recommendation/Nomination be confidential, coming directly from the reference?
The letter may be submitted as part of your application dossier or separately.

Is published work a requirement? If so, is there a minimum number of published works to be considered for the Prize?
Published works are not a requirement for consideration. The individual’s work and career are assessed overall.

Will the Prize be awarded to the individual or an institution supporting the work of the individual?
The Prize will be provided in full to the individual to support his or her ongoing or future work in the humanities.

How many recipients are selected?
The prize is awarded to only one person per year.

When will the recipient be selected and notified?
The winner will be selected within the month of June.

When will the Prize be awarded?
The prize will be awarded at the annual luncheon in November.

Why is the award named the Hiett Prize in the Humanities?
The annual prize is endowed by philanthropist Kim Hiett Jordan to honor her family’s devotion to the value of the humanities and lifelong learning.