2005 Hiett Prize in the Humanities Recipient

Brad S. Gregory is Professor of History and Dorothy G. Griffin Collegiate Chair at the University of Notre Dame, where he has taught since 2003. He also serves as Director of the Notre Dame Institute for Advanced Study. From 1996-2003 he taught at Stanford University, where he received early tenure in 2001. He was the recipient of two teaching awards at Stanford and has received three more at Notre Dame. He specializes in the history of Christianity in Europe during the Reformation era and on the long-term influence of the Reformation era on the modern world.  Before teaching at Stanford, he earned his Ph.D. in history at Princeton University (1996) and was a Junior Fellow in the Harvard Society of Fellows (1994-96).  He also has two degrees in philosophy from the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium (1984, 1987) as well as an M.A. in history from the University of Arizona (1989).

Gregory’s first book, Salvation at Stake: Christian Martyrdom in Early Modern Europe Dr. Brad Gregory(Harvard, 1999), received six book awards.  He has also edited The Forgotten Writings of the Mennonite Martyrs (Brill, 2002) and co-edited Seeing Things Their Way: Intellectual History and the Return of Religion (Notre Dame, 2009). His most recent book is a wide-ranging reinterpretation of the making of the modern Western world entitled The Unintended Reformation: How a Religious Revolution Secularized Society (Belknap, 2012).  In addition to a short book on why history matters and another about the relationships among different sorts of knowledge, he is currently working on a history of conceptions of human nature from the Middle Ages to the present, the tentative title of which is “Embodied Souls and Their Rivals.”

Outside his study and the classroom, Gregory is an avid road cyclist and sings bass in the Notre Dame Basilica Schola. He is a sports-loving calligrapher who appreciates fine food and good wine.

Gregory prize

Ms. Kim Hiett Jordan, Dr. Brad Gregory, Dr. Larry Allums

Other Hiett Prize recipients

2015 Samu 2014 Farm 2013 Dere 2012 Samet 2011 Sene 2010 Oppe
2009 McWi 2008 Green 2007 Miles 2006 Kalle 2005 Gregory
  • © 2016 Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture - Contact Us - Admin Login -