Hiett Logo with tagline

About the Hiett Prize

The Hiett Prize in the Humanities is an annual award aimed at identifying candidates who are in the early stages of careers devoted to the humanities and whose work shows extraordinary promise and has a significant public component related to contemporary culture.

The opposite of a lifetime achievement award, the Hiett Prize seeks to encourage future leaders in the humanities by 1) recognizing their early accomplishment and their potential and 2) assisting their ongoing work through a cash award of $50,000.

The Hiett Prize was endowed by Kim Hiett Jordan, a Lifetime Board Member of the Dallas Institute, to honor her parents, who inspired in her a lifelong love of learning.

Applications for the 2017 Hiett Prize in the Humanities are due by Friday, April 14, 2017.

Requirements for the Hiett Prize application

1. A letter of recommendation from a person whose career in the humanities is well established;
2. A curriculum vitae of no more than four pages;
3. A narrative profile of accomplishments and published work;
4. A plan for future scholarship and/or projects in the humanities.

Note: All applicants must reside in the United States. For more information, contact Dr. Larry Allums at 214.981.8814 or contact us at our contact page using the drop-down to select “Hiett Prize.”

Submit applications to:



Dr. Larry Allums
The Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture
2719 Routh Street
Dallas, TX 75201

Alia Malek’s Keynote Address – November 9, 2016

With introduction from Katherine Owens

The 12th Annual Hiett Prize in the Humanities

Congratulations to the 2016 Hiett Prize in the Humanities recipient:

2016 Hiett Prize recipient Alia Malek. Photo courtesy of: Peter van Agtmael / Magnum Photos

Alia Malek

Syrian-American Civil Rights Lawyer and Journalist

Alia Malek was born in the U.S. of Syrian parents who planned to return to their homeland but instead began an unplanned life in diaspora as immigrants. Alia earned a Bachelor of Arts degree at Johns Hopkins and a Juris Doctorate at Georgetown University Law Center. For several years her legal work in civil rights took her to Washington, the West Bank, and Lebanon. In 2006, she received a Masters degree in Journalism from Columbia University and entered her writing career in earnest. After living and writing anonymously for two years in Damascus, Alia returned to the U.S. for the launch of Al Jazeera America. She is author of A Country Called Amreeka: U.S. History Re-told Through Arab American Lives and editor of Patriot Acts: Narratives of Post-9/11 Injustices. Her book The Home That Was Our Country: A Memoir of Syria is forthcoming next year.

Join us for the 2016 Hiett Prize Luncheon:
Wednesday, November 9 a
t the Ritz-Carlton Dallas (2121 McKinney Ave., Dallas)

Ticket and Table Levels

Join us for this premier fundraising event as we award the Hiett Prize to an emerging leader in the humanities. The $50,000 Hiett Prize is the nation’s largest award of its kind.

Homer Table ~ $5,000
One premium luncheon table for 10
Includes valet
10 copies of honoree’s book (one copy per guest)
10 tickets to meet honoree at private reception
Recognition at the Benefactor ($5000) level in annual Dallas Institute catalog
Prominent recognition at the event
Table naming opportunity

Bachelard Table ~ $2,500
One preferred table for 10
Includes valet
2 copies of honoree’s book for host
2 tickets to meet honoree at a private reception
Recognition at the Pillar ($2,500) level in annual Dallas Institute catalog
Recognition at the event
Table naming opportunity

Patron Ticket ~ $250
Invitation to meet honoree at a private reception

Individual Ticket ~ $175
Limited seating at side tables

A special thank you to the 2016 Honorary Committee:

Hiett Prize Founder: Kim Hiett Jordan

Honorary Chair: Betty Regard

Luncheon Chairs: Ann Drumm, Kathy Herring, and Jaina Sanga

Host Committee: Wick Allison, Laura Baldwin, Nancy Cain Marcus (Honorary Chair Emeritus), Nelda Cain Pickens, John Castle, Lois Finkelman, David Griffin, Sally Hoglund (Honorary Chair Emeritus), Joanne Stroud, and Gail Thomas

Judging Panel: Scott Dupree, Katherine Owens, and Carolyn Smith-Morris

 Past Hiett Prize Recipients

Samuelson Banner sin Dr. Farmer Banner sin Dr.
Deresiewicz Banner sin Dr Samet Banner sin Dr.
Oppenheimer banner sin Dr.
McWilliams Banner sin Dr. Greenberg Banner sin Dr.
Miles Banner sin Dr. Kallendorf Banner sin Dr.
Gregory Banner sin Dr.
  • © 2016 Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture - Contact Us - Admin Login -